News & Events


Inaugural Catholic Education Awards recognise excellence


In a first for Catholic Education South Australia – twelve educators have been recognised at the inaugural Catholic Education Awards ceremony on May 12.

The Awards – which are celebrated as part of Catholic Education Week (May 9 – 15 2022) – recognise outstanding achievements and contributions by staff and volunteers across South Australia’s 103 Catholic schools.

The awards were presented at an event at Sacred Heart College, attended by Mr Blair Boyer MP, Education Minister, Sally Egan, Deputy Director, National Catholic Education Commission (NCEC) and Professor Denis Ralph, Chair, South Australian Commission for Catholic Schools.

The awards were presented to 12 outstanding recipients across six categories including:

  • Early Career Teacher (< five years)              
  • Experienced Teacher (> six years)
  • Education Support                 
  • Volunteer Supporter
  • Innovative Program
  • Leadership/Lifelong Contribution

Out of the 12 recipients, 4 were from Catholic schools in the Diocese of Port Pirie:

  • Ms Alanah Rowe - Middle Years Curriculum Enrichment Coordinator, Senior Psychology, Religion & Rite Journey Teacher, Caritas College.
    Award: Early Career Teacher (Secondary)
  • Mr Leigh O’Shaughnessy - R-6 Director of Learning & Wellbeing, Caritas College.
    Award: Experienced Teacher (Primary)
  • St Joseph’s School, Renmark: Wellbeing Program.
    Award: Innovative Program
  • Kylie Johnson - Director of Learning at St Barbara’s School, Roxby Downs.
    Award: Leadership / Lifelong Contribution

The exceptional recipients are those whose efforts are beyond the already high standards of education and care delivered by all those involved in Catholic education. Through their commitment, the awardees will have made a difference in the lives of students or others with whom they come into contact as they carry out their responsibilities in Catholic education.

“Every single one of these recipients has gone above and beyond. They are a wonderful example of the unwavering commitment to Catholic education shown by staff and volunteers in our 103 school communities across the State. Our Awardees demonstrate the extraordinary outcomes that can be achieved when people are passionate about teaching and learning,” said John Mula OAM, Deputy Director, Catholic Education South Australia.

“At Catholic Education South Australia we really care about our students – we are keen to see every young person in our schools thrive. These awards shine a light on the incredible lengths our staff and volunteers will go to support the learning and wellbeing of our students.”

Congratulations to all the awardees.

You can read more about each award recipient on the Catholic Education SA Awards website